Book Now
Hospitality NZ Awards Winner 2012

Qualmark

Testimonials

17th November - from Trip Advisor

We have just had the enormous pleasure of hosting our daughter's wedding at the gorgeous Duke of Marlborough and cannot thank Bridget and her team enough. This hotel is a seriously professional operation and our day went without a hitch. What a venue and what beautiful old hotel. Everything from the room to the food to the welcome and the sincere hospitality from every single member of staff made for a day that frankly left our guests wide eyed and reeling...it was so darn magical!

Bridget and her partners deserve every single accolade - they have just won "best country hotel' but really they deserve a gong much bigger than that. City counterparts could take a lesson in sincerity, service and attention to detail from this hotel. The recent renovations have been thoughtfully achieved - the hotel retains her beautiful olde worlde charm for sure.

From the hilarious karaoke night at the tavern part of their operation to the attentive and effortless service at the reception, take a bow Duke and staff. We could not have asked for more and sincerely thank every one of you.

We could not recommend The Duke more highly and would be very happy to communicate with others out there thinking about having their big day at this most beautiful hotel.

Five stars are not enough!
 


10th November 2012  -
from Tripadvisor
 
The Duke was a perfect place to host our wedding. From the pre-planning to the day itself everything went exactly as I had hoped it would.

Jenny, Bridget and the team took care of our every need and were always three steps ahead, making sure every detail had been covered off. Being an event manager myself I was aware that I can be quite pedantic and critical but I need not have worried – every request was responded to and actioned to deliver a seamless day for us all.

I would rate the Duke as being one of the best venues/hotels that I have ever worked with. I would highly recommend this venue and the team to others equally for weddings and for corporate events.

A number of our guests commented on the quality of the food and how pleasant all the staff were. I thought the menu was well priced and we got great quality and quantity for our money.

The main dining room has been beautifully renovated – it looks quite different from how I remember it as a kid. We had just fewer than 90 guests including our bridal party and this worked perfectly in the room. The room felt intimate and yet there was plenty of space to walk around between the tables and we had a sizable dance floor area. Having access to the veranda out the front was great too as it gave us a perfect pre-dinner mingling space and space for guests and children to escape to through the night when they wanted a break from inside.

The rooms are similarly attractive and comfortable and exude a comfortable, fresh atmosphere.

Of course being right on the front, by the sea is great as you have the beautiful vista of the Bay as a backdrop and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep.

Everyone went above and beyond to deliver a perfect day for us all. I think the Duke are doing great things for Russell and I wish them all the best with their future growth.


14th January 2012

Dear Bridget and everyone at the Duke,

Thank you so much for making our day so amazing. Your help through the whole day and before was so appreciated. You guys run a tight ship and we will be recommending you to anyone who might be getting married in the future.


From TripAdvisor

Superb wedding venue
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Thank you Bridget and all your wonderful and tireless staff for making my daughter's wedding such a happy and stress free day. The food was superb and I think it was fantastic that you were prepared to organise a gluten free menu just for us. All the guests who stayed at The Duke thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The pre-wedding family dinner was delicious and the staff were totally relaxed even though the numbers fluctuated as some of the guests took the "scenic" route from Auckland. This despite the fact that they were coping with all of Russell (and some French) who had gathered on the deck to watch the rugby. The nibbles for happy hour were a triumph - photos supplied. We will be back soon for more mouth watering fish and chips or maybe the seafood chowder or the mussels..........

Wedding Friday, 11 November 2011

Dear Bridget

OMG I had such a brilliant day on my wedding day.

Everything was perfect from the moment i woke up... The Bridesmaids and i really loved the special breakfast and all the help from you and your staff throughout the day before we left for the Church.

I mean everything .. the venue was beautifully set up, the food was fantastic and the service was the outstanding.

We have had so so much feedback from our guests loving the day... we have been told that every table felt like they were the head table which i can tell you, we really did have amazing service especially from Jay. I felt he went beyond his duties.

My Aunt and Uncle from Australia had there honeymoon at The Duke 49 years ago and thought what a great place to get married

I would recommend The Duke of Marlborough as a wonderful place to dine and stay and to future brides and grooms THE BEST PLACE EVER.

I really cant Thank You enough for giving me the Day i always dreamed off.

Wedding Friday, 17 February 2012

Hi Bridget,

Thank you for having us, you and your team were nothing short of sensational you really made the day very memorable and we had nothing but glowing feedback from everyone about the accommodation, meals, service and hospitality.

We will certainly be back as many times as possible, and I have a great photo I took from your deck in case it is of use to you.? I will send on a separate email.

Wedding Saturday, 14th January 2012
 
Sorrry this is so belated.  We popped in to say thanks before we left Russell but you were not around.  Thank you for the most amazing day and for all your help. Everyone raved about how good you were on the night and raved about you all and the hotel. ESPECIALLY THE FOOD!
 
You made the whole day very easy for us. I am waiting on photos so I can get them made into thank you cards and I will send one up. Some nice shots of the Duke to so I will forward those on. It takes for ever for mail to get home, so it will be a while but it will happen.
 
Once again thank you and we hope you are all well and busy. See you again next holiday.
 
From Trip Advisor

A quality hotel and wedding venue
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our family recently held a wedding at the Duke of Marlborough hotel. This is an iconic hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, a pleasant venue for an afternoon on the deck and often with good music. The establishment went out of their way to accommodate the Bridal couple in every way, meals, bridal setting, accommodation rates for the wedding group. the service was excellent to our guests during their stay, non guests who dined there and also to those with individual needs. the wedding breakfast was excellent, the ambience of the newly refurbished dining rooms created a wonderful wedding weekend for family and friends highly recommended

Wedding Friday, 2nd March 2012

I wanted to thank you and your marvelous team for making our wedding day absolutely amazing! As we live in Australia, I may have been more nervous than your usual bride; I hadn’t been to The Duke myself and was really trusting testimonials of others plus your brochures and website.

I was so happy with all of your pre-support in the lead up; many many phone calls and emails for the months preceding the wedding. On the day I was impressed to see you there first thing in the morning with your team ironing table clothes and attending to all the very small details. We were handing you ‘this and that’ for head tables, gift tables, asking advice on the wedding dress; and you made it seem like no trouble at all.

The canapés were absolutely delicious and I cannot praise your chefs enough on the taste of the food; myself and guests were so impressed. All night we were looked after by yourself and your staff; the room looked beautiful… we really just sat there in amazement at how wonderful everything had turned out.

I would absolutely recommend The Duke of Marlborough to any couple thinking of having their reception there. Without a doubt, it was one of the best nights of my life. It all came together seamlessly with divine food, the stunning waterfront backdrop, beautiful room and very friendly and helpful wait staff.

I cannot thank you enough Bridget; We are happy for you to share this testimonial and are happy to be contacted regarding this.

 
Wedding Saturday, 24th March 2012

I just wanted to send a quick e-mail to say thank-you so much for all your help and also to all of your staff that helped make our wedding day so special.  It really was everything I had imagined and more.  I have had so many comments from guests raving about how amazing the canapés, mains and deserts were and the exceptional service of the waiting staff.  The ladies who were on the front desk were also very friendly and helpful.  I can’t say thank-you enough for all your help and input that went into making the day what it was: from the numerous e-mails and queries, to letting us use your office to store the decorations, making rooms available when needed, and of course all of the set up on the day.  You and your team really do know what you’re doing, and your commitment to ensuring everything runs smoothly really shows through. 

I have posted a blog on Trip Advisor, pretty much repeating all I have said above because I really do believe that your business and staff are top quality!

There is no doubt that we will be back to stay at The Duke to celebrate our anniversaries to come.

Thanks again and all the best,